Ellicott’s Mill

John Ballendine established this gristmill at the Occoquan Falls ca. 1755. By 1800 it was owned by Nathaniel Ellicott and housed machinery to unload grain from wagons or barges, grind it, and return it to its carrier. The building, the region’s first automated gristmill, burned in 1924. Only the Miller’s House, now the Mill House Museum, remains.

Marker is on Mill Street, on the right when traveling west.

Courtesy hmdb.org

Credits and Sources:

HMDB