Millwood
Two miles northwest of here astride Mill Flat Creek is the site of old Millwood. A sawmill town established in 1891. Railroads brought logs here for milling and later lumber from other nearby mills including that which cut the privately owned redwoods in Converse Basin.
The lumber was dried and placed in a fifty four mile wooden flume terminating in Sanger, Sequoia Lake was formed to provide flume water. The operation continued until 1910 when it was moved to Hume.
Millwood once had a seasonal population of more than one thousand, a thirty room hotel and all facilities of a complete town. Today nothing remains.
Jim Savage Chapter 1852
E Clampus Vitus
November 14, 1965
Marker is at the intersection of Highway 180 and National Forest Road 13S97, on the right when traveling west on Highway 180.
Courtesy hmdb.org